13 young European directors vie for top award at Moveast

Article published on Aug. 4, 2008
community published
Article published on Aug. 4, 2008
Created as a launching pad for young directors from Central and Eastern Europe, the Moveast festival has unveiled the titles of the 13 films that will vie for the Golden Benjamin Award at its fourth edition, to be held in Pecs from October 7-14. Focusing exclusively on debut features produced last year and shot using 35mm stock, Moveast 2008 will screen works by 13 emerging directors.
These include Romania’s Adrian Sitaru, the Czech Republic’s Karin Babiská, Hungary’s Attila Gigor and Anna Faur, Poland’s Lukasz Palkowski and Grzegorz Pacek, Slovakia’s Vlado Fischer, Croatia’s Goran Kulenovic and Kristian Mili, Macedonia’s Igor Ivanov Izy, Serbia’s Ivan Zivkovic, the Ukraine’s Eva Neymann and Slovenia’s Marko Nabersnik.

The 2008 contenders will be hoping for the same success as previous prize-winners, including the Czech Republic’s Marek Najbrt (Champion), Hungary’s Agnes Kocsis (Fresh Air), Bosnia’s Jasmin Durakovic (Nafaka) and Poland’s Slawomir Fabicki (Retrieval ).

Headed by Pecsi Filmunnep Kht. and backed by Magyar Filmunio (agency for the international promotion of Hungarian film), Moveast is the only Hungarian festival whose jury is composed of Fipresci critics.

The 2008 edition will also host the first events organised as part of the celebrations for the 40th anniversary of Hungarian Film Week (early February 2009), which was held in Pecs in the 1960s before relocating to Budapest.

Moveast 2008: Films in competition:

Dolls - Karin Babiská (Czech Republic) Play Me a Lovesong - Goran Kulenovic (Croatia) The Living and the Dead - Kristian Mili (Croatia) Upside Down - Igor Ivanov Izy (Macedonia) Girls - Anna Faur (Hungary) The Investigator - Attila Gigor (Hungary) Wednesday, Monday, Thursday Morning - Grzegorz Pacek (Poland) Reserve - Lukasz Palkowski (Poland) Angling - Adrian Sitaru (Romania) Huddersfield - Ivan Zivkovic (Serbia) Half Breakdown - Vlado Fischer (Slovakia) Rooster's Breakfast - Marko Nabersnik (Slovenia) At the River - Eva Neymann (Ukraine)

Fabien Lemercier